Please reload

Richard Strauss: "Sonatina in F, 'From and Invalid's Workshop,'" TrV 288

November 5, 2015

Sonatina in F, "From an Invalid's Workshop," TrV 288

Richard Strauss

Born: June 11, 1864, Munich, Bavaria

Died: September 8, 1949, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

Instrumentation: Wind Ensemble

Duration: 30 minutes

Composed: 1943


It was as a sixteen-year-old schoolboy, in 1881, that Richard Strauss wrote his first work for wind: the Serenade in E-flat Major for 13 Wind Instruments, Op. 7, which is still often played today; it was followed in 1884 by a Suite, Op. 4, with the same instrumentation. Hearing it again in 1900, the composer observed that, “double woodwind against four horns is impossible.” The consequence of this recognition is drawn in two late works, which he designated as Sonatinas, and which date from the period immediately prior to and after the completion of his eightieth year: against the four horns are now ranged two flutes, two oboes, three clarinets, basset-horn, bass clarinet, two bassoons, and contrabassoon.


The first of two late-career Sonatinas (F Major), which was composed when he was convalescing in the Spring and Summer of 1943, bears the inscription “From an invalid’s workshop.” It consists of three movements of which the middle one, in two parts – Romance and Minuet – was written before the others (Vienna, February 23, 1943), and then the first (Vienna, March 24, 1943), and then the Finale (Garmisch, July 22, 1943).


The composer entrusted the first performance to the Dresden “Tonkünstlerverein,” in recognition of the first performance of the Serenade, Op. 7, which had been given at one of this same Society’s concerts in 1882. The first performance of the Sonatina took place on June 18, 1944, under Karl Elmendorff.


Program note by Dr. Willi Schuh.


Additional Resources:

 - 2010 UMWO Blog Post

 - Additional UMWO Blog Strauss Posts


Richard Strauss, Sonatina in F, "From an Invalid Workshop," TrV 288, I. Allegro Moderato

Netherlands Wind Ensemble, Edo de Waart, conductor



Strauss, Sonatina in F, "From an Invalid Workshop," TrV 288, II. Romance and Minuet: Andante - Tempo di Menuetto

Netherlands Wind Ensemble, Edo de Waart, conductor

Strauss, Sonatina in F, "From an Invalid Workshop," TrV 288, III. Finale: Molto Allegro - Meno Mosso - Tempo Primo - Presto

Netherlands Wind Ensemble, Edo de Waart, conductor



Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

recent posts:
search by tags:

September 10, 2018

Please reload

featured posts: